How long do I have to return a used car in Illinois?
A: Illinois law prohibits “as is” used car sales. Since July 1, you get 15 days or 500 miles before a used car can be “as is.” If the car breaks down within that 15 days or 500 miles, the dealer must fix it.
Can you get a refund on a used car?
If you’ve purchased a new or used car and you’re having second thoughts about it, in most cases, you won’t be able to return the car. The dealer who sold you the car is usually not legally obligated to take the car back and issue you a refund or exchange after you’ve signed the sales contract.
Is there a 30 day warranty on used cars in Illinois?
CHICAGO (CBS) — People who buy used cars are protected in Illinois by a law that took effect on July 1, 2017. It requires used car dealers who sell cars “as-is”, even auctions, to provide a limited powertrain warranty for 15 days or 500 miles, whichever comes first.
Is it illegal to sell a used car without a spare tire in Illinois?
No person or organization shall sell, lease, or offer for sale or lease, for highway use, any pneumatic tire, or any vehicle equipped with a pneumatic tire, which has a depth of tread groove less than 3/32 of an inch; except a pneumatic tire on a motorcycle or truckster may have a depth of tire groove of not less than …
Can you return a used car purchase?
Under the Consumer Guarantees Act (CGA), a car must be of acceptable quality. This means you can expect a car to last a reasonable amount of time. If the dealer refuses or fails to fix the faults, or doesn’t do so in a reasonable time, then you may be able to reject the car and ask for a replacement or a refund.
What is the return policy on a used vehicle?
Is there a 30 day return policy on used cars?
Typically, the dealerships that have a return policy will allow you to return a used car within 30 days. However, not all dealers will have the same time frame for returns. Others may offer a longer or shorter pre-owned vehicle return time frame. Also, some may not even offer a policy at all.
Is there a buyers remorse law in Illinois?
Illinois law provides citizens with the right to cancel certain consumer transactions within three business days. However, many people mistakenly believe that you have a three-day right to cancel all transactions.
Is there a lemon law for used cars in Illinois?
The Illinois lemon law specifically does not cover used vehicles. Lemon laws in most states only cover vehicles still under their original manufacturer’s warranty, and most used vehicles are resold well after those warranties expire.
Can I change my mind after buying a used car?
If you’ve changed your mind after agreeing to buy a car, you’re often out of luck. A contact to purchase a vehicle is legally binding. Although you may have heard of a three-day “cooling-off” period that allows you time to change your mind after a purchase, it doesn’t apply to cars in any state.
How long do you have to return a used car in Illinois?
Three-Day Return. Many dealers offer a money-back guarantee on used car sales, or allow buyers to return the car with no questions asked within three days or less. However, unless the dealer specifically extends this privilege, purchasers have no right under Illinois law to return the car for a full refund.
What are the laws on buying a used car in Illinois?
The dealer may make verbal promises to get you to buy the car, but if those promises aren’t in writing and you sign an “as is” contract, that written contract prevails and there are no warranties with respect to the car. The Illinois lemon law only applies to new cars, not used cars.
Can a used car be returned to the dealership?
When it comes to new cars, the answers are “no” and “maybe.” (If you’re a used-car buyer, you might have better luck returning the car, but it all depends on the state in which you live and the individual dealership’s policies.)
Do you need a credit report to buy a car in Illinois?
Review your own credit report as well if you’re planning on getting the car financed. Dealers have the option in Illinois to sell a used car “as is” — that is, without any express or implied warranties. This phrase means the buyer is on the hook for any repairs the car needs at any time.